Wentworth Tourism

Cycling & Walking

15. The Uniting Church

Short Street Wentworth

The first Presbyterian property was in Cadell Street and extended back to Murray Street. One of the earliest brick buildings, the Manse, was built in 1859. When this Manse was destroyed by fire, the original chimney-stack was converted to a sundial here in the grounds of St Andrew’s Uniting Church. The Alex & Betsy Armstrong Memorial Manse, (the adjacent building), was erected in 1929. In 1977 the Methodist and Presbyterian churches merged to form the Uniting Church. The Wesley Hall was then moved here from Sandwych Street. Sadly the picturesque 1881 Methodist Church was demolished, although the parsonage built in 1935 still stands.